Conference organizing committees

Advisory committee

Jeemol Unni (Director, IRMA) Patron

• Per Pinstrup-Andersen (H. E. Babcock Professor of Food, Nutrition and Public Policy, Cornell University)
• T. Nanda Kumar (Chairman, National Dairy Development Board)
• P.G.Chengappa (Former Vice-Chancellor, University of Agricultural Sciences, Bangalore)
• R S Sodhi (MD, Gujarat Cooperative Milk & Marketing Federation)
• Pramod K Joshi (Director for South Asia, International Food Policy Research Institute, New Delhi
• M K Mudgal (CGM, National Bank for Agricultural And Rural Development)
• Samarendu Mohanty (Head, Division of Social Sciences, International Rice Research Institute)
• S.Sivakumar (Group Head- Agri & IT Businesses, ITC)
• Gopal Naik (Professor & Director of the Center for Public Policy, Indian Institute of Management Bangalore)
• Rajesh Kumar Sinha (CEO, NCDEX eMarkets Ltd)
• Marcos Fava Neves (Professor, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil)
• Thomas Reardon (Distinguished Faculty, Michigan State University)
• Carlos A. da Silva (Senior Agribusiness Economist, Food and Agricultural Organization of the U.N., Italy)

Conference Organizing Committee
• M.V.Durga Prasad (Chair, IRMA)
• SP Raj (Co-chair, Editor JADEE, Distinguished Professor, Syracuse University)
• Steven Haggblade (Professor, Michigan State University)
• Ramu Govindasamy (Professor, Rutgers University)
• Sapna A. Narula (Associate Professor, (The Energy and Research Institute University)
• Victoria Salin (Professor, Texas A&M University)
• K. Sivakumar (Arthur C. Tauck, Jr. Chair in International Marketing and Logistics, Lehigh University)
• N T Sudarshan Naidu (Assistant Professor, Shiv Nadar University)
• Calum Turvey (W. I. Myers Professor, Cornell University)

Local Organizing Committee (IRMA)
• M.V.Durga Prasad (Convenor)
• Vanita Yadav (CSEE* Coordinator)
• Mukul Kumar (CRUD** coordinator)
• Paresh J Bhatt (CSEE Member)
• Atulan Guha (CRUD Member)
• Indranil De (CRUD Member)
• Ram Manohar Vikas (CRUD Member)
• Rakesh Arawattia (CSEE Member)
• Nirali Shukla (Member)
• Baljeet Singh (Member)
• Shivam Kushwaha (Member)

*CSEE: Centre for Social Entrepreneurship and Enterprises
**CRUD: Centre for Rural Urban Dynamics



National Dairy Development Board (NDDB) is the pioneer of the milk revolution through farmer owned organizations in India, making milk cooperatives a 14 million farmers strong movement, with 4.4 million being women members. Today, India produces 137 million tonnes liters of milk every year and has been the largest producer since 1998. NDDB is proud to achieve the aim of connecting small milk producers to mainstream, and of providing milk security to our nation.

The Gujarat Cooperative Milk Marketing Federation Ltd, Anand (AMUL) is the largest food products organisation of India and has achieved turnover of Rs. 20733 crores (3.4 billion dollar) during 2014-15. It is the apex organization of the Dairy Cooperatives of Gujarat. This State has been a pioneer in organizing dairy cooperatives and its “Amul Model” has not only been emulated in India but serves as a model for rest of the World. Over the last six and a half decades, Dairy Cooperatives in Gujarat have created an economic network that links more than 3.6 million village milk producers with millions of consumers in India and abroad through a cooperative system that includes 18,536 Village Dairy Cooperative Societies (VDCS) at the village level, affiliated to 17 District Cooperative Milk Producers’ Unions at the District level and GCMMF (AMUL) at the State level. These cooperatives collect on an average 152 Lakhs Liters of milk per day from their producer members, more than 70% of whom are small, marginal farmers and landless labourers.

YES BANK, India's fifth largest private sector Bank with a pan India presence across all 29 states and 7 Union Territories of India, headquartered in the Lower Parel Innovation District (LPID) of Mumbai, is the outcome of the professional & entrepreneurial commitment of its Founder Rana Kapoor and its top management team, to establish a high quality, customer centric, service driven, private Indian Bank catering to the future businesses of India. YES BANK has adopted international best practices, the highest standards of service quality and operational excellence, and offers comprehensive banking and financial solutions to all its valued customers. Today, YES BANK has a widespread branch network of over 700 branches across 375 cities, with 1300+ ATMs across India.

YES BANK has been recognized amongst the Top and Fastest Growing Banks in various Indian Banking League Tables by prestigious media houses and Global Advisory Firms, and has received several national and international honours for various Businesses including Corporate Investment Banking, Treasury, Transaction Banking, and Sustainable practices through Responsible Banking. YES BANK is steadily evolving as the Professionals Bank of India with the long term mission of Building the Finest Quality Bank of the World in India? by 2020.

NCDEX e-markets Limited (NeML, Formerly NCDEX Spot Exchange-NSPOT) is the leading electronic spot market, offering online screen based spot trading platform and services in agriculture and non-agriculture commodities.

Incorporated on October 18 2006, the company is a wholly owned subsidiary of National Commodity and Derivatives Exchange Limited (NCDEX), the largest agricultural commodity exchange in the country. NeML is promoted by national level institutions such as LIC, NABARD, IFFCO, Canara Bank, NCDEX e Markets Limited (NeML, Formerly NCDEX Spot Exchange Ltd,) is a subsidiary of NCDEX (majority owned by LIC, NABARD, IFFCO, PNB, Canara Bank, NSE). NCDEX is India's largest Agricultural commodity exchange with more than 90% market share.

With a national presence, the company has pioneered breakthrough initiatives like Mandi Modernization Program (MMP), e-Pledge, and e-marketing. MMP envisions to transform the regulated, fragmented Indian Agricultural markets, popularly known as APMC Markets/ Mandiinto a single unified agricultural market leveraging its Unified market Platform (UMP). It uses "one state one market" as the building block to achieve this vision. Since MMP made a beginning in the state of Karnataka, the model is widely recognized as the "Karnataka model" by various government and government entities. Impressed by the work done, central government is adapting the principles as National Agriculture Market (NAM).

NeML works closely with its ecosystem partners to create efficient commodity markets its market and services. E-marketing facilitates buyers and sellers enhance their buying and selling efficiencies leveraging its trading platform. The company helps in financial inclusion by facilitating credit to smallholders against commodities stored in NeML and Bank approved warehouses using its unique e-pledge mechanism. In the process NeML helps in leveraging market and in the process help 1. Farmers make more money and 2. Help discerning consumers get supplies on time.

NeML Board of Directors as on 30 Sep 2015

- Mr. Samir Shah, MD & CEO of National Commodity & Derivatives Exchange Limited
- Mr. S. K. Mitter, Former Executive Director, Life Insurance Corporation of India
- Mr. Sanjeev Kumar Asthana, Director of iFarms Ventures Advisors Private Limited
- Mr. Arun Balakrishnan, Former Chairman and Managing Director of HPCL

Institute of Rural Management, Post Box No. 60, Anand 388001, Gujarat, India
Contact: 02692-260391,260181 Fax: 02692-260188
This site is best viewed with resolution of 1024 x 768 pixels on Internet Explorer version 8 and above, Mozilla Firefox and Google Chrome.
Copyright © 2013 IRMA